CAHNR Alum Wins Nobel Peace Prize

When alum Steven Were Omamo sees someone planting, he sees hope. The Nobel Peace Prize Committee seems to agree.


Sohyun Park

Landscape Architecture and Plant Science Professor Represents LAF at ASLA Awards

Sohyun Park represented the Landscape Architecture Foundation (LAF) as a part of the professional jury for the selection of the winner of the Research Category.

Read more.

Tricia Leahey

Allied Health Sciences Professor Tapped as Permanent Director of InCHIP

Tricia Leahey, Professor of Allied Health Sciences, will take the helm of UConn’s Institute for Collaboration on Health, Intervention, and Policy.

Read more.


Douglas J. Casa

Dr. Douglas Casa was named Board of Trustees Distinguished Professor in the Department of Kinesiology

Casa, who is also the CEO of UConn's Korey Stringer Institute, is an international expert in heat related illness, sports safety, and performance in athletes, laborers, and warfighters. His tireless advocacy has led to lifesaving policies and interventions around the nation.

Read more.


Young Building

Two CAHNR Faculty Receive AAUP Excellence Awards

Steven Zinn from the Department of Animal Science and Sudha Srinivasan from the Department of Kinesiology were honored by the faculty union.

Read more.


woman smiling

CAHNR Alum Kira Dineen Shares Wonders of Genetics Through Podcasting

Launched in 2012 when Dineen was still in high school, DNA Today has won the Best Science and Medicine Podcast in the People’s Choice Podcast Awards three times

Read More.

headshot of smiling man

Kinesiology Professor Neal Glaviano Recognized by National Association of Athletic Trainers

Assistant Professor in the Department of Kinesiology and Clinical Education Coordinator for the Athletic Training Program, Neal Glaviano, was honored with the Dr. Freddie & Mrs. Hilda Pang Fu New Investigator Award from the National Athletic Trainers’ Association Foundation. This award recognizes a researcher who is likely to continue to make significant contributions to the body of knowledge in athletic training and health care.

Read more.


Two CAHNR Faculty Named to World's Most Highly Cited Research List

Associate Professor of Nutritional Sciences Dr. Yangchao Luo and Assistant Professor of Remote Sensing (NRE) Zhe Zhu were named to the 2022 list of the world's most highly cited researchers. The list identifies scientists who produced multiple papers ranking in the top 1%, demonstrating significant research influence among their peers.

Read More.

UConn Sign

UConn Extension EFNEP Program Earns Top Honors from USDA, APLU, Cooperative Extension

UConn Extension was recently recognized with the 2022 Top Honors in Extension Excellence and Diversity for the Expanded Food and Nutrition Education Program (EFNEP)

Read more.



Ellen Shanley Named 22-23 President of Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics

Allied Health Sciences professor Ellen Shanley began her year-long term on June 1 as the 2022-2023 President of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics, the world's largest organization of food and nutrition professionals.

Read More.

More Awards & Honors

  • The Korey Stringer Institute, along with corporate partner ELSMART Associates, LLC. was named a winner of OSHA's Beat the Heat national video contest sharing tools and resources about the dangers of heat exposure in indoor and outdoor workplaces. Read more:
  • Joe Podurgiel, a student in the Physical Therapy program, received the Exxat Leadership Award for demonstrating exceptional leadership qualities in both the classroom and the community, inspiring others and making a positive impact
  • Nicole Tillquist '23, received a postdoctoral fellowship grant from the USDA's Animal Nutrition, Growth, and Lactation Program
  • Stacey Stearns from UConn Extension participated in a national collaboration on the impact of land grant universities to develop
  • Chelsea Garcia, graduate student in Nutritional Sciences, was awarded the UConn Office of Undergraduate Research’s (OUR) Mentorship Excellence Award
  • Professor Emerita of Nutritional Sciences Nancy Rodriguez was elected Vice President of the American College of Sports Medicine
  • UConn Kellogg Dairy Center herd and staff were selected for the Progressive Breeders Registry Award for a sixteenth year
  • ARE undergraduates Carolanne Cusack, Michael Wolf, and Kate Ferrigno took home second place in the FDRS national case study marketing competition
  • ARE graduate Xi He's paper Medicaid expansion and non-alcoholic beverage choices by low-income households published in Health Economics was named Best Paper of the Year by the AAEA's Health Economics Section