banner of Extension programs

Sustainable Landscapes

We are developing environmentally aware citizens that participate in sustainable, healthy lifestyles, and improving our landscapes statewide in collaboration with partners, stakeholders, and community members. 

stream in UConn Forest, Molly Cunningham photo

Find a Program

 

Center for Land Use Education And Research (CLEAR)

CLEAR is a partnership of the Department of Extension and the Department of Natural Resources and the Environment at the College of Agriculture, Health and Natural Resources, and the Connecticut Sea Grant College Program. Support for CLEAR comes from UConn and from state and federal grants.

Website

CT Invasive Plant Working Group (CIPWG)

The Connecticut Invasive Plant Working Group (CIPWG) is a consortium of individuals, organizations, and agencies concerned with invasive plant issues.

Website

CT Sea Grant

Connecticut Sea Grant works toward achieving healthy coastal and marine ecosystems and consequent public benefits by supporting integrated locally and nationally relevant research, outreach, and education programs in partnership with stakeholders.

Website

Geospatial Technology Program (GTP)

The GTP is a part of the Center for Land Use Education and Research (CLEAR) within the University of Connecticut College of Agriculture, Health and Natural Resources. GTP collaborates with other CLEAR programs on various projects in an effort to create the most useful tools and resources for municipal officials.

Website

Integrated Pest Management

Integrated Pest Management (IPM) is a sustainable and scientific approach to managing pests. IPM practitioners base decisions on information that is collected systematically as they integrate economic, environmental, and social goals. This approach applies to any situation, agricultural or urban, and is flexible enough to accommodate the changing demands of agriculture, commerce, and society.

Website

Master Gardeners

The UConn Extension Master Gardener Program is an educational outreach program that is part of UConn Extension. The program started in 1978 and consists of horticulture training and an outreach component focused on the community at large. Master Gardeners are enthusiastic, willing to learn and share their knowledge and training with others. What sets them apart from other home gardeners is their special horticultural training. In exchange for this training, Master Gardeners commit time as volunteers working through their local UConn Extension Center and the Bartlett Arboretum in Stamford to provide horticultural-related information to the community.

Website

Land Use Academy

The Land Use Academy provides practical education for local land use decision makers in Connecticut. The program focuses on the fundamental knowledge and skills needed to serve effectively on a local land use commission. The academy is a partnership of UConn CLEAR, the CT Bar Association, and the CT Office of Policy and Management, and has been around (in various forms under various pseudonyms) for more than thirty years.

Website

Municipal Stormwater

This guide was developed by the NEMO program at the UConn Center for Land Use Education and Research with funding from the Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Protection (DEEP). It is part of a broad outreach effort to provide guidance, training, tools, and other support to help Connecticut MS4 communities and institutions comply with the revised MS4 general permit. This website is frequently updated and materials will be added throughout the five-year project period (fall 2016–fall 2021) based on deadlines for various requirements and community needs or requests.

Website

Natural Resources Conservation Academy (NRCA)

NRCA is an innovative program in conservation and land use planning that engages Connecticut high school students, adult conservation volunteers, and teachers with conservation efforts at the community level. NRCA’s three interconnected efforts benefit students and adults by providing education on natural resource management and geospatial technology, and facilitating the use of these new skills in the implementation of local conservation projects that benefit the community.

Website

Pesticide Safety Education Program

The goals of the Pesticide Safety Education program are to ensure that anyone using pesticides uses them safely. Pesticides are important tools in pest management, but they and must be respected for what they are and handled in a manner that protects the applicator, the public, the environment, and our food supply.

Website

Soil Health & Conservation

Our approach is to provide a team (with expertise in agronomy, engineering, pasture management, cover cropping, manure management, livestock and vegetable production, soil health, farming in a changing climate, food safety, weed management, farm energy use, and farm viability) to work with individual farmers in the watershed. By working with individual farmers to address their specific goals and challenges, we are seeking to build soil health and restore and protect water quality.

Website

Tree Wardens

In 1998, UConn Extension Tree Warden Outreach collaborated in creating the Tree Warden School in cooperation with the Tree Wardens’ Association of Connecticut, Inc. More than 300 tree wardens, deputy tree wardens, community forestry volunteers, arborists, landscape architects, and chief elected and appointed officials have completed the program.

Website

4-H Youth

4-H is the youth development program of UConn Extension. As part of the University of Connecticut, 4-H has access to research-based, age-appropriate information needed to help youth reach their full potential. The mission of 4-H is to assist all youth ages 5-18 in acquiring knowledge and developing leadership and life skills while forming attitudes that will enable them to become self-directing, productive, and contributing members of their families and communities.

Website

Contact a Specialist

Chester Arnold

Chester Arnold 

Water Resources Management, Center for Land Use Education - CLEAR

chester.arnold@uconn.edu

860-345-5230

 

Abby Beissinger

Abby BeissingerAbby Beissinger

Plant Diagnostics

abby.beissinger@uconn.edu

860-486-5239

 

Laura Brown

David Dickson

David Dickson

Water Resources Management, National NEMO Coordinator - NEMO, CLEAR

david.dickson@uconn.edu

860-345-5228

Jason Henderson

Jason HendersonJason Henderson

Turfgrass Science

jason.henderson@uconn.edu

860-486-0189

Julia Kuzovkina-Eischen

Julia Kuzovkina-EischenJulia Kuzovkina-Eischen

Ornamental Horticulture

jkuzovkina@uconn.edu

860-486-3438

Thomas Meyer

Thomas MeyerThomas Meyer

Natural Resources

thomas.meyer@uconn.edu 

860-486-0145

 

 

Carol Quish

Carol QuishCarol Quish

Horticulture, Consumer

carol.quish@uconn.edu

860-486-6271 

 

 

Robert Ricard

Robert RicardRobert Ricard

Human Dimensions of Natural Resources/Tree Wardens

robert.ricard@uconn.edu

860-409-9079

 

Jason Vokoun

Jason Vokoun, Department Head of Natural Resources and the EnvironmentJason Vokoun

Fisheries

jason.vokoun@uconn.edu

860-486-0141

 

Thomas Worthley

Thomas WorthleyThomas Worthley

Forest Management and Stewardship - CLEAR

thomas.worthley@uconn.edu

860-345-5232

 

Nancy Balcom

Nancy.BalcomNancy Balcom

Aquatic Invasive Species, Seafood Safety, Marine Fisheries - Sea Grant

nancy.balcom@uconn.edu

860-405-9107

 

Kara Bonsack

Kara Bonsack 

Center for Land Use Coordination, Communications - CLEAR

kara.bonsack@uconn.edu

860-345-5227

 

Cary Chadwick

Cary Chadwick

Geospatial Technologies and Training - CLEAR

cary.chadwick@uconn.edu

860-345-5216

Michael Dietz

Michael Dietz

Water Resources Management, CT NEMO Coordinator - NEMO, CLEAR

michael.dietz@uconn.edu

860-345-5225

 

Bruce Hyde

Bruce Hyde

Land Use Planning & Climate Change - CLEAR

bruce.hyde@uconn.edu

860-345-5230

Jessica Lubell-Brand

Jessica Lubell-BrandJessica Lubell-Brand

Horticulture, Plant Science

jessica.lubell@uconn.edu

860-486-1487

 

 

Michael O’Neill

Michael P. O'Neill, Associate Dean of ExtensionMichael O'Neill

Associate Dean & Associate Director

mp.oneill@uconn.edu

860-486-6270

Steven Rackliffe

Steven RackliffeSteven Rackliffe

Turfgrass Science

steven.rackliffe@uconn.edu 

860-486-1944

Amanda Ryan

Amanda RyanAmanda Ryan

Municipal Stormwater - CLEAR

amanda.ryan@uconn.edu

860-345-5231

Victoria Wallace

Victoria WallaceVictoria Wallace

Landscape/Turf - CT IPM

victoria.wallace@uconn.edu

860-885-2826

 

Katherine van der Woude

Candace Bartholomew

Mark Brand

Mark BrandMark Brand

Nursery Production, Commercial 

mark.brand@uconn.edu

860-486-2930

Laura Cisneros

Laura CisnerosLaura Cisneros

Environment & Sustainability, Youth Educator - CLEAR

laura.cisneros@uconn.edu

860-486-4917

 

Ryan Faulkner

Ryan FaulknerRyan Faulkner

CT Trail Census

ryan.faulkner@uconn.edu

860-345-4511

 

John Inguagiato

John Inguagiato 

Turf Pathology

john.inguagiato@uconn.edu

860-486-0162

 

Richard McAvoy

Richard McAvoy, Department Head of Plant Science and Landscape ArchitectureRichard McAvoy

Greenhouse Production -CT IPM

richard.mcavoy@uconn.edu 

860-486-0627

Leanne Pundt

Leanne PundtLeanne Pundt

Greenhouse Production, Commercial - CT IPM

leanne.pundt@uconn.edu

860-626-6240

Rosa Raudales

Rosa RaudalesRosa Raudales

Greenhouse Specialist - CT IPM

rosa.raudales@uconn.edu

860-486-6043

Charles Tracy

Charles TracyCharles Tracy

CT Trail Census

charles.tracy@uconn.edu

860-345-4511

Emily Wilson

Emily WilsonEmily Wilson

Geospatial Technologies - CLEAR

emily.wilson@uconn.edu

860-345-5226