two people holding hands

Photo: Erin Knapp

icon

Dismantling Structural Racism

Extension educators are active members of the Working Group on Structural Racism, a strategic initiative in the UConn College of Agriculture, Health and Natural Resources. The group's mission is focused on identifying and dismantling structural racism in CAHNR programs, policies, and practices, and fostering environments that advance racial equity, inclusion, and belonging by advocating for antiracist policies, practices, and norms. 

There are four subcommittees of the Working Group on Structural Racism, each currently working on targeting outcomes and developing a list of short, medium, and long term actions or strategies. The four subcommittees are:

  • Antiracist and culturally sustaining learning environments
  • Space and support for Black, Indigenous and People of Color
  • Antiracist policy and process
  • Authentic community engagement

If you would like more information about the Working Group on Structural Racism, reach out to the co-chairs, Cary Chadwick or Mary Anne Amalaradjou.


Opportunities and Resources

book with person's finger and hand tracing the sentence

Environmental and Social Justice Book Club

Extension educators and colleagues from across UConn meet as a group and read environmental and social justice books, followed by discussions on the material and changes that can be implemented. View a list of our past and future books.

learn

Extension Antiracism Learning Community

Extension educators meet twice per month in a learning community on antiracism. A different educator leads each session with everyone reading articles, watching videos, or listening to podcasts before the learning community meeting. Members then discuss the materials and actions that can be implemented in our organization. A selection of the materials we've reviewed is available.

UConn students at family weekend

Antiracism in the Outdoors Resources

Our UConn Extension team worked with colleagues to develop an annotated bibliography of resources on antiracism in the outdoors.

Website

University Resources

CAHNR Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

The College of Agriculture, Health and Natural Resources is committed to diversity, equity, and inclusion.

Website

UConn Office of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

The UConn Office of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion is available as a resource for all.

Website

UConn Land Acknowledgement Statement

All land in the State of Connecticut was once Native territory, which is why it is our duty to acknowledge that the University of Connecticut a land grant institution, is existing on Native land. It is important to understand the long-standing history that has brought you to reside on the land and to seek to understand your place within that history.

Website

UConn Cultural Centers

The UConn Cultural Centers support our students, faculty, staff, and community members.

Website

Annotated Bibliography of Structural Racism in the Food System

Michigan State University Extension created an annotated bibliography of structural racism in the food system. The 8th edition is currently available.

Website

Contact a Working Group on Structural Racism Team Member

Mary Anne Amalaradjou – Co-Chair – Department of Animal Science

Mary Anne AmalaradjouMary Anne Amalaradjou

Food Microbiology

Mary_Anne.Amalaradjou@UConn.edu

860-486-0158

 

Cary Chadwick – Co-Team Chair – Extension

Cary Chadwick

Geospatial Technologies and Training - CLEAR

cary.chadwick@uconn.edu

860-345-5216

Jessica Brandt – Department of Natural Resources & the Environment

Jessica BrandtJessica Brandt

Aquatic Systems

jessica.brandt@uconn.edu

860-486-0139

 

Laura Cisneros – Department of Natural Resources & the Environment

Laura CisnerosLaura Cisneros

Environment & Sustainability, Youth Educator - CLEAR

laura.cisneros@uconn.edu

860-486-4917

 

Kristen Cooksey Stowers – Department of Allied Health Sciences

Kristen Cooksey StowersKristen Cooksey Stowers

Health equity, agricultural economics, & public policy

kristen.cooksey@uconn.edu

860-486-6343

 

David Dickson – Extension & CLEAR

David Dickson

Water Resources Management, Interim Director, CLEAR

david.dickson@uconn.edu

860-345-5228

Richard Dunn – Agricultural and Resource Economics

Richard DunnRichard Dunn

Health and Public Economics

richard.dunn@uconn.edu

860-486-1932

Maria-Luz Fernandez – Nutritional Sciences

Maria Luz FernandezMaria-Luz Fernandez

Nutritional Sciences

maria-luz.fernandez@uconn.edu

860-486-5547

 

Tessa Getchis – Extension and Connecticut Sea Grant

Tessa Getchis

Aquaculture Senior Extension Educator - CT Sea Grant

tessa.getchis@uconn.edu

860-405-9104

 

Ana Legrand – Department of Plant Science & Landscape Architecture

Ana Legrand

Entomology, IPM

ana.legrand@uconn.edu

860-486-0869

 

Jiff Martin – Extension

Jiff Martin

Sustainable Food Systems Extension Educator

jiff.martin@uconn.edu

860-870-6932

 

Neha Mishra – Department of Pathobiology and Veterinary Science

Neha MishraNeha Mishra

Connecticut Veterinary Medical Diagnostic Laboratory

neha.mishra@uconn.edu

860-486-3737

 

Morty Ortega – Department of Natural Resources & the Environment

Morty OrtegaI. Morty Ortega

Wildlife

morty.ortega@uconn.edu

860-486-0161

Sherry Pagoto – Allied Health Sciences

Sherry PagotoSherry Pagoto

mHealth and Social Media

sherry.pagoto@uconn.edu

860-486-2834

 

Kimberly Rollins – Agricultural and Resource Economics

Department Head, Kimberly Rollins. Department of Agricultural and Resourec EconomicsKimberly Rollins

Environmental Economics & Natural Resources

kimberly.rollins@uconn.edu

860-486-2836

Stephen Swallow – Agricultural and Resource Economics

Stephen SwallowStephen Swallow

Environmental Economics & Natural Resources

stephen.swallow@uconn.edu

860-486-1917