two people holding hands

Dismantling Racism

Extension educators are actively involved with the dismantling racism strategic initiative in the UConn College of Agriculture, Health and Natural Resources. Our educators are members of the Working Group on Structural Racism. Their mission is dismantling structural racism and fostering environments that advance racial equity, inclusion, and belonging by advocating for anti-racist policies, practices, and norms. 

We have four subcommittees of the WGSR, each currently working on targeting outcomes and developing a list of short, medium, and long term actions or strategies. The four subcommittees are listed below. I hope to have a short one-liner that further describes the focus area of these groups shortly, as well as a list of outcomes, actions and strategies each group has identified.

  • Antiracist and culturally sustaining learning environments
  • Space and support for Black, Indigenous and People of Color
  • Antiracist policy and process
  • Authentic community engagement

Opportunities and Resources


Environmental and Social Justice Book Club

Extension educators and colleagues from across UConn meet as a group and reading environmental and social justice books, followed by discussions on the material and changes that can be implemented. A list of our past and future books is available.

Extension Anti-Racism Learning Community

Extension educators meet twice per month in a learning community on anti-racism. A different educator leads each session with everyone reading articles, watching videos, or listening to podcasts before the learning community meeting. Members then discuss the materials and actions that can be implemented in our organization. You can view a selection of the materials we've reviewed.

UConn students at family weekend

Anti-Racism in the Outdoors Resources

Our UConn Extension team worked with colleagues to develop an annotated bibliography of resources on anti-racism in the outdoors.


University Resources

CAHNR Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

The College of Agriculture, Health and Natural Resources is committed to diversity, equity, and inclusion.


UConn Office of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

The UConn Office of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion is available as a resource for all.


UConn Land Acknowledgement Statement

All land in the State of Connecticut was once Native territory, which is why it is our duty to acknowledge that the University of Connecticut a land grant institution, is existing on Native land. It is important to understand the long-standing history that has brought you to reside on the land and to seek to understand your place within that history.


UConn Cultural Centers

The UConn Cultural Centers support our students, faculty, staff, and community members.


Annotated Bibliography of Structural Racism in the Food System

Michigan State University Extension created an annotated bibliography of structural racism in the food system. The 8th edition is currently available.


Contact an Extension Team Member

Laura Brown – Co-Team Chair

Cary Chadwick – Co-Team Chair

Cary Chadwick

Geospatial Technologies and Training - CLEAR


Laura Cisneros – Department of Natural Resources & the Environment

Laura CisnerosLaura Cisneros

Environment & Sustainability, Youth Educator - CLEAR



David Dickson – Extension & CLEAR

David Dickson

Water Resources Management, National NEMO Coordinator - NEMO, CLEAR


Tessa Getchis – Extension and Connecticut Sea Grant

Tessa Getchis

Aquaculture Senior Extension Educator - CT Sea Grant



Ana Legrand – Department of Plant Science & Landscape Architecture

Ana Legrand

Entomology, IPM



Jiff Martin – Extension

Jiff Martin

Sustainable Food Systems Extension Educator



Morty Ortega – Department of Natural Resources & the Environment

Morty OrtegaI. Morty Ortega